Layman E. Scott Snr High School Celebrates ‘Good’ Rating

Education Minister Juliana O’Connor-Connolly and a host of distinguished guests, including District Commissioner Mr. Mark Tibbetts, joined students and staff at the Layman Scott High School (LSHS) on Friday morning (July 9) at a special assembly to celebrate the school’s ‘Good’ rating in the May 2021 Office of Education Standard (OES) inspection.

The school’s acting principal, Devon Bowen, welcomed guests to the special occasion while Head boy Jaheem Hayles and Head girl Keira Bodden chaired the special school assembly.

In a video message, Governor Martyn Roper congratulated the school on its achievement.

“Congratulations to everyone at the Layman Scott High School in Cayman Brac for the outstanding achievement of receiving a ‘Good’ award in the latest inspections report. Thanks to all the teaching staff, Minister O’Connor-Connolly and her team in the ministry, the inspections team and everybody, including all of the students, for everything that they have done to achieve this excellent performance,” remarked Governor Roper.

Minister O’Connor-Connolly also congratulated LSHS on its achievement, adding, “I am optimistic that Layman Scott High School is well on its way to achieving an excellent rating. I am delighted with your progress to date, and we are committed to our continued investment in education. Education remains our national priority, and together we can celebrate the positive strides that we have made. The future is bright, the journey is mapped out, and the goals are achievable. Therefore, let us all purpose to do our very best as we build a world-class system of education together.”

The assembly also featured student performances such as; musical items from the LSHS Steel pan band and the musical theatre group, poems by Raeann Scott and Denoy Loten, and a dance by Yzara Ebanks. The event also included a video presentation highlighting the school’s progress. 

Acting Deputy Principal (Academics) Mr. Kevin Roberts delivered the vote of thanks while Kimberly Scott offered the opening prayer. Ms. Sharon Austin, Deputy Principal (Pastoral), introduced the emcees and Cailyn Chambers & Vera Busby sang the National Song. 

Among those in attendance were MoE Deputy Chief Officer Lyneth Monteith, Department of Education Services (DES) Acting Director Tammy Hopkins, Senior School Improvement Officer Adrian Jones, other MoE and DES representatives, members of the Parent Teachers Association (PTA) and Royal Cayman Islands Police Service (RCIPS) Area Commander for Cayman Brac & Little Cayman Inspector Ian Yearwood. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *